Wilkes Genealogical Society, Inc.









Surname Files




Contact Us



Wilkes County, North Carolina was formed in 1777 from Surry County and the District of Washington. Then, various counties have been formed, or partly formed, out of Wilkes County since that time. They are:

Alexander - Established in 1847 out of Iredell and Wilkes Counties

Ashe - Established in 1799 out of Wilkes County

Caldwell - Established in 1841 out of Burke and Wilkes Counties

Watauga - Established out of Caldwell, Wilkes and Yancey Counties in 1849

The Wilkes Genealogical Society, Inc. was established by a local small group of interested people in 1967. Since that time, the Society has published various types of genealogical materials and continues to collect and provide citizens with a wide array of materials for research endeavors. These materials are housed at the Wilkes County Public Library.

The Wilkes County Public Library is located at 215 Tenth Street, North Wilkesboro, NC. 
WGS operates on the same schedule as the Wilkes Co. Library

Monday - Thursday - 9:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

Friday - Saturday - 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

The Library is closed for all major holidays, and the first Saturday in October for the Annual Apple Festival. Additional information may be acquired through the Wilkes County Library Web Site that is listed under Links in this web site.